January 30, 2020

Think you know books?

Which one starts like this? Click on a book below to answer

I never had a brain until Freak came along and let me borrow his for a while, and that's the truth, the whole truth. The unvanquished truth, is how Freak would say it, and for a long time it was him who did the talking.
Freaks Like Us
Susan Vaught

Freaks Like Us

By: Susan Vaught
Recommended for grade(s): 8, 9, 10

When Jason Milwaukee's best friend, Sunshine, disappears from the face of the earth, the whole town, including Jason, starts searching for her. But the insistent voices in Jason's head won't let him get to the heart of the mystery-he's schizophrenic, and the voices make it hard to know what is real and what is not. As the chase becomes more panicked, Jason's meds start wearing off, and he is looking more and more guilty. But of what, exactly? Both brilliantly witty and intensely honest, this poignant novel draws upon the author's many years as an adolescent psychologist, but it's Vaught's powerful voice and expertly crafted mystery that will keep the pages turning. --From the website at Bloomsbury

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Eat, Brains, Love
Jeff Hart

Eat, Brains, Love

By: Jeff Hart
Recommended for grade(s): 8

A laugh-out-loud funny, surprisingly romantic, zombie road trip novel filled with heart—and brains. Eat, Brains, Love is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies. The good news: Jake's dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name. The bad news: it's because they both contracted a mysterious zombie virus and devoured the brains of half their senior class. Now Jake and Amanda are on the run from Cass, a teen psychic sent by the government's top-secret Necrotic Control Division to track them down. As Jake and Amanda deal with the existential guilt of eating their best friends and set off in search of a cure for the zombie virus, Cass struggles with a growing psychic dilemma of her own—one that will lead all three of them on an epic journey across the country and make them question what it means to truly be alive. Or undead. -- From Harper Collins

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Finding Mighty
Sheela Chari

Finding Mighty

By: Sheela Chari
Recommended for grade(s): 4, 5

Along the train lines north of New York City, twelve-year-old neighbors Myla and Peter search for the link between Myla’s necklace and the disappearance of Peter’s brother, Randall. Thrown into a world of parkour, graffiti, and diamond-smuggling, Myla and Peter encounter a band of thugs who are after the same thing as Randall. Can Myla and Peter find Randall before it’s too late, and their shared family secrets threaten to destroy them all? Drawing on urban art forms and local history, Finding Mighty is a mystery that explores the nature of art and the unbreakable bonds of family. --from Abrams.

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Freak The Mighty
Rodman Philbrick

Freak The Mighty

By: Rodman Philbrick
Recommended for grade(s): 5, 6, 7

Two boys - a slow learner stuck in the body of a teenage giant and a tiny Einstein in leg braces - forge a unique friendship when they pair up to create one formidable human force. —from Scholastic.

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.