June 14, 2019

Think you know books?

Which one starts like this? Click on a book below to answer

Not every 13 year old girl is accused of murder, brought to trial, and found guilty.
13 Reasons Why
Jay Asher

13 Reasons Why

By: Jay Asher
Recommended for grade(s): 9, 10

You can't stop the future. You can't rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play. Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker--his classmate and crush--who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why. Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah's pain, and as he follows Hannah's recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever. Need to talk? Call 1-800-273-TALK (8255) anytime if you are in the United States. It's free and confidential. --From Penguin

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Ask Me How I Got Here
Christine Heppermann

Ask Me How I Got Here

By: Christine Heppermann
Recommended for grade(s): 10, 11, 12

How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here. Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend--her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend--are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that--even though she knows it was the right decision for her--nothing is the same. She doesnÕt want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn't want to run cross country anymore; she can't bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who's going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit. --From the website at HarperCollins

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
Avi

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

By: Avi
Recommended for grade(s): 5, 6

Thirteen-year-old Charlotte Doyle is excited to return home from her school in England to her family in Rhode Island in the summer of 1832. But when the two families she was supposed to travel with mysteriously cancel their trips, Charlotte finds herself the lone passenger on a long sea voyage with a cruel captain and a mutinous crew. Worse yet, soon after stepping aboard the ship, she becomes enmeshed in a conflict between them! What begins as an eagerly anticipated ocean crossing turns into a harrowing journey, where Charlotte gains a villainous enemy . . . and is put on trial for murder! A Newbery Honor Book. --From the website at Scholastic

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

A Death in the Family
James Agee

A Death in the Family

By: James Agee
Recommended for grade(s): 10, 11, 12

When Dean Fletcher fell for a blonde nymphet named Kayleigh Scott, he managed to ruin his life. Kayleigh had told him she was eighteen. In truth, she was not quite thirteen—and poor Dean was soon off to prison, a convicted sex offender, still smitten with his adolescent lover. Now he's finally free again, only to be ensnared by two crimes that have Chief Detective Inspector Lloyd pulling out what's left of his hair. One is an infant kidnapping; the other is the murder of Kayleigh's mother on the very eve of the family's sudden move to Australia. Lloyd thinks he hears the ring of truth in Dean's declarations of innocence. But with his partner Judy out on maternity leave, he'll have to pick his way alone through this minefield of birth, death, murder, and domestic evil. —from the website at Penguin Random House

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.