March 7, 2019

Think you know books?

Which one starts like this? Click on a book below to answer

When we were young my little brother Phil and I shared the same bed. "SHARED" is the sugar coated way of saying we were TRAPPED in the same bed, as we were children and had no say in the matter.
Blankets: An Illustrated Novel
Craig Thompson

Blankets: An Illustrated Novel

By: Craig Thompson
Recommended for grade(s): 9, 10, 11, 12

Craig is growing up in the Midwest, the son of very zealous Christian parents. He and his brother escape their father's violence by drawing. Ironically, the only relief is getting away to church camp, where he eventually meets Raina, a very un-Christian girl.

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Chillax
Jerry Scott

Chillax

By: Jerry Scott
Recommended for grade(s): 8, 9, 10

Zits jumps from the comics page to the bookshelf, and Zits: Chillax is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Homeroom Diaries as well as the Zits comic strip! Jeremy Duncan, future rock god, is going to his first real rock concert (Gingivitis rules!) without his parents (hallelujah!) and with a mission in mind. It'll be an epic night he'll never forget. Featuring black-and-white illustrations on every page, Zits: Chillax is based on the hit syndicated comic strip. —from the HarperCollins website

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

I Think I Am In Friend-Love With You
Yumi Sakugawa

I Think I Am In Friend-Love With You

By: Yumi Sakugawa
Recommended for grade(s): 10, College Plus

I have a confession to make. I think I am in friend-love with you. What's friend-love? It's that super-awesome bond you share with someone who makes you happy every time you text each other, or meet up for an epic outing. It's not love-love. You don't want to swap saliva; you want to swap favorite books. But it's just as intense and just as amazing. And it's this search for that connection that comic-book artist Yumi Sakugawa captures in I Think I Am in Friend-Love with You. It's perfect if you've ever fallen in friend-love and want to show that person how much you love them...in a platonic way, of course. --from Simon and Schuster.

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

My Brother's Husband (My Brother's Husband #2)
Gengoroh Tagame

My Brother's Husband (My Brother's Husband #2)

By: Gengoroh Tagame
Recommended for grade(s): 11, 12, College Plus

The concluding volume in the story of Yaichi, his daughter Kana, and how their meeting Mike Flanagan—Yaichi's brother-in-law—changes their lives and their perceptions of acceptance of homosexuality in their contemporary Japanese culture. As Mike continues his journey of discovery concerning Ryoji's past, Yaichi gradually comes to understand that being gay is just another way of being human. And that, in many ways, remains a radical concept in Japan even today. In the meantime, the bond between Mike and young Kana grows ever stronger, and yet he is going to have to return to Canada soon—a fact that fills them both with impending heartbreak. But not before more than a few revelations come to light. -- From Pantheon

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.