February 1, 2019

Think you know books?

Which one starts like this? Click on a book below to answer

First of all, let me get something straight: This is a JOURNAL, not a diary.
The Burn Journals
Brent Runyon

The Burn Journals

By: Brent Runyon
Recommended for grade(s): 9, 10, 11, 12

"I don't want to get out of bed. I'm so stupid. I did so many things wrong. I don't know what to do. I'm going to be in so much trouble. What am I going to do? I'm completely screwed." In 1991, fourteen-year-old Brent Runyon came home from school, doused his bathrobe in gasoline, put it on, and lit a match. He suffered third-degree burns over 85% of his body and spent the next year recovering in hospitals and rehab facilities. During that year of physical recovery, Runyon began to question what he'd done, undertaking the complicated journey from near-death back to high school, and from suicide back to the emotional mainstream of life. In the tradition of Running with Scissors and Girl, Interrupted, The Burn Journals is a truly remarkable book about teenage despair and recovery. —from the website at Penguin Random House

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #1)
Jeff Kinney

Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #1)

By: Jeff Kinney
Recommended for grade(s): 4, 5

It's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you're ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary. In #1 of this debut Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley's star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend's newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion. ALA and YALSA Teens Top Ten 2008. —From wimpykid.com

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Dork Diaries OMG!: All About Me Diary! (Dork Diaries)
Rachel Renée Russell

Dork Diaries OMG!: All About Me Diary! (Dork Diaries)

By: Rachel Renée Russell
Recommended for grade(s): 5, 6

Grab a notebook and your favorite pen and get ready to make your own Dork Diary! Use the questions in this book that Nikki Maxwell has created just for you to help you write your very own daily dairy. If you could swap places with anyone for a day, who would it be and why? What song could you listen to 100 times? What TV show are you totally obsessed with right now and why? What’s the fiercest outfit in your closet? Put your personal spin on these questions and many more—and since this is an authentic Dork Diary, Nikki chimes in with her answers and artwork as well!

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.

Ask Me How I Got Here
Christine Heppermann

Ask Me How I Got Here

By: Christine Heppermann
Recommended for grade(s): 10, 11, 12

How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here. Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend--her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend--are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that--even though she knows it was the right decision for her--nothing is the same. She doesnÕt want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn't want to run cross country anymore; she can't bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who's going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit. --From the website at HarperCollins

Where to Find

Score a physical copy of the book.